RESOLUTION "B"

Approved unanimously at a meeting of approximately two hundred faculty members on December 6, for presentation at a meeting of the Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate on December 8.

Whereas, the present grave crisis in the life of the University demands that the Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate offer leadership to the campus community;

And whereas, the existing organization of the Division is not well adapted to the exercise of such leadership under the emergency circumstances now prevailing;

Therefore, be it resolved:

1. That an Emergency Executive Committee, consisting of six elected members and the Chairman of the Division ex officio, be constituted to represent the Division in dealing with problems arising out of the present crisis during the remainder of the present academic year, reporting its actions regularly to the Division, and convening the Division when necessary.

2. That the election of the six elective members shall be conducted by the Secretary of the Academic Senate and the Committee on Elections; that nominations be filed at the office of the Secretary, 220 California Hall, by 8 p.m., Wednesday, December 9; that each nomination be accompanied by the signatures of five sponsors and a signed statement that the nominee will serve if elected; that voting take place by written secret ballot in the office of the Secretary of the Academic Senate between 9 a.m. and 8 p.m., Thursday, December 10; that each voter vote for not more than six candidates; that the six candidates with the highest votes be elected; and that the committee be convened immediately after the results are determined to choose its chairman.

3. That the Emergency Executive Committee be authorized to call on any of the Standing Committees or to appoint <u>ad hoc</u> committees to assist it; and that committees thus called on for assistance report to the Division through the Emergency Executive Committee.

> Kornhauser, Lowenthal, McClosky, Muscatine, Neyman, Schaar, Schachman, Searle, Sellers, Selznick, HN Smith, Wolin. Drafting Committee.