BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES OF WOMEN BEING HONORED FOR THEIR LEADERSHIP

The following six women are being honored for their leadership in the civil rights struggle:

MRS. DAISY BATES of Little Rock, Arkansas, was formerly NAACP president in her state. Inspirer and counselor of the "Little Rock Nine" who desegregated Central High School in her city in 1957.

MRS. DIANE NASH BEVEL. Mississippi Field Secretary of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee, was a leader and participant in the student sit—in demonstrations in Nashville, 1960, and the Freedom Rides, 1961.

MRS. MYRLIE EVERS, of Jackson, Mississippi, is the widow of Medgar Evers, NAACP field secretary for Mississippi who was assassinated on June 12, 1963.

MRS. HERBERT LEE, widow of Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee Field Secretary who was slain while conducting a voter registration drive in Mississippi in 1961.

MRS. ROSA PARKS, Detroit, Michigan, a former Secretary of the NAACP, Montgomery, Alabama, branch, whose refusal to yield her bus scat to a white man set off the year-long Montgomery bus protest movement, 1955.

MRS. GLORIA RICHARDSON, Cambridge, Maryland, organizer and leader of desegregation demonstrations in her home city, 1963; and member of the Executive Committee of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee.